Week 9 Mission Update – Lessons learned

Hello E’erybody!

This week has been awesome!! So, to start things off, I would like to talk about the people that I have been working with! First, the Branch President, his name is Mike, he works at the airport here which is literally just a shack and a driveway, and yeah! He is a cool dude. Then there is Christion and Natacha, they are both super cool and they feed us ALL the time. We love it. Sometimes they give us rides from place to place and each time they blast Tahitian pop music and drive extremely fast. Haha one time, this past week, Christion played Cheerleader as he was driving us home to Avera at the end of a semi long day. At times like that, we kind just zone out and not worry too much that music is being played haha. And one other person that really is super awesome is this man named Tama. He is literally the coolest bro this side of the Mississippi!! He was born in France, moved to the Ivory Coast, then moved here! He talks really fast, and loves giving us food. There is a little bit of a trend here with the food.

So yeah! That is just a little bit of info on the people I have been working with! There are others, they all are really cool and they love it when we try to speak French or Tahitian haha.

Okay so this week, uhm not too much happened! Ate some cow heart, yeah that is a thing!! But in terms of the work, there has not really been a lot going on. Avera is super difficult. So, sadly, they will be closing the area and I will be headed out to the Mainland on Wednesday the fourth of November!

So, I think the lesson that I have learned this week, which I believe to be really important, is such:  What makes something that we own, God’s or our’s??  I have been thinking, is this mission God’s mission, or mine? And I have kinda come up with my own answer. I feel that at the start, it is our mission. We don’t really work hard, we kinda are confused. And yeah. It is just meh. But! Te moment that we change our hearts, we realize the work that we could be doing, and we expound upon that, it becomes God’s. It really is our commitment. the same goes with talents, and really anything if you think about it. And my goal on this mission is to not make it my mission, but the big guy upstairs. To make it His.

Well that is it for this week!! All is well here!! Eatin good, and who knows, I might gain some weight!!  stop laughing….

Love you all!!!

Elder Dalton

Too funny
Too funny
Sunset on Rurutu

Leave a comment